Right Livelihood Award 2022 | Apply Here

Right Livelihood Award application 2022 | Full details of Right Livelihood Award application form, requirements, eligibility, qualifications needed, application guidelines, application deadline, how to apply online, closing date, and other opportunities links for Tanzanians is published here on Tzscholars.com as well as on the official website/application portal.

Right Livelihood Award 2022 for Outstanding Activists

All Eligible and Interested applicants may apply online for this opportunity before the Right Livelihood Award application form deadline-closing date.


  • Don’t forget that Right Livelihood Award is totally free of charge
  • Don’t send anyone money for this opportunity.
  • Beware of Fraudsters!!!!
  • Subscribe to our notification list with your email to receive the Latest Opportunities Update.

Details of Right Livelihood Award

Applications are invited for the Right Livelihood Award 2022. The Right Livelihood Award was established in 1980 to “honour and support courageous people solving global problems”. It has become widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’ and there are now 174 Laureates from 70 countries.

About the Right Livelihood Award

In 1979, the Swedish-German philanthropist and stamp collector Jakob von Uexkull turned to the Nobel Foundation with the proposal to create two new Nobel Prizes, one environmental award and one award to promote knowledge and perspectives of people in poor countries. To fund the prizes, he offered to sell his stamp collection, worth more than one million US Dollars, and donate the money to the Nobel Foundation.

Jakob was alarmed by the disconnect between the urgency of global problems and the way the international community was dealing with them. He saw how decision-makers were meeting behind closed doors, out of touch with reality. Activists and civil society organisations were at the same time gathering outside the meeting rooms, often presenting constructive solutions to the problems. But their proposals were not taken seriously, and Jakob wanted to do something about it.

See also  CoreNet Global Academic Challenge | How To Apply

“Whoever gets the Nobel Prize will be listened to”, he thought and contacted the Nobel Foundation, which politely rejected the proposal to establish two new awards. There and then, Jakob decided to create the Right Livelihood Award to support people fighting for a just, peaceful and sustainable world. He went ahead and sold parts of the stamp collection, and that was how it all began. The Right Livelihood Award received a lot of attention when it was presented for the first time in 1980, one day before the Nobel Prize. Today, it is one of the most prestigious awards in sustainability, social justice and peace.

Income from the sale of stamps generated sufficient means to kick off the prize but ever since the Right Livelihood Award has been receiving its funding from private donors. A unique feature is that the Award comes with long-term support that includes networking and protection for Laureates under threat. Because of its founding history, it has come to be known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’.


  • Normally, the Foundation makes three cash awards and one Honorary Award each year. The cash awards are intended for work in progress or the extension of existing activities; they are never given for personal use.


  • Proposals are accepted from all around the world;
  • Anyone – except Right Livelihood Award jury and staff members – can nominate anyone (individuals or organisations), except themselves, close relatives or their own organisations to be considered for a Right Livelihood Award.


Proposals should be submitted both electronically and as a paper copy via regular mail to the office in Geneva. Please send only one hard copy, preferably printed double-sided. As the working language of the Foundation and the jury is English, proposals should therefore preferably be written in English. However, they are able to accept proposals in Spanish or French if it is not possible to do so in English. Although if the total number of documents does not exceed 25 pages, please consider only submitting the nomination electronically in order to reduce the environmental footprint.

See also  Ashoka Young Changemakers Programme | How To Apply

Download the guidelines for proposals

For more information, visit Right Livelihood Award.

Deadline: March 1, 2022

However, if you have any feelings regarding the Right Livelihood AwardPlease kindly DROP A COMMENT below and we will respond to it as soon as possible.

  • Be social by sharing this post with others using the sharing buttons below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here